Play SMARTER. Not HARDER. xo

Food:

  • Honey Nut Cheerios, 1% milk, banana, coffee, sugar free hazelnut creamer
  • greek yogurt w/ fruit and granola (Tim forgot to pack my apple)
  • salad w/ tofu and light southwest lime ranch dressing
  • apple (sigh of relief)
  • Coffee Protein Shake
  • banana
  • WINE.

Exercise:

  • Short Reilly Walk
  • 50 toe pushups
  • 50 crunches (25 regular, 25 v-ups)
  • 2 hr practice
  • 1 hr Yoga w/ Rad Die and my lovely teammates.

Food.  Ate well yesterday.  I survived w/o the apple I normally have for snack mid-day.  It was tough, but I did it.  Then when I got home the first thing I did was ravenously devour an apple out of the fridge.  Whew.  I should have had my banana before Conts practice last night, even though it was more chill than usual.  (I got dizzy/lightheaded during headstands.)

I slept like a champ.  I was nice and relaxed after Yoga and I did my best to maintain that demeanor on my drive home.  Mostly successful.  Small glass of wine before bed.  It took some time to fall asleep, but I did, and I slept like a champ.  (I should start using my fitbit to track my sleep again…)

Yoga.  Wow that was super awesome, and just what the doctor ordered.  Have I mentioned how much I hate being captain, yet?  😦  I really do.  I love it, but I hate it.  I hated turning skaters away last night.  Sure, you don’t have to be a “Sunday” skater to do Yoga after practice, but…  you do to attend a Contenders practice.  Also…  I talked about the stress everyone’s been feeling, lately…  And sure.  The newbs started their eval week, too.  But…  we’ve been at it for three.  And all the scrimmaging for the Hood/Daisy bout…  Last night was for the Contenders and our Project Mayhem guests.  It wasn’t for everyone else.  I have good reasons, but they don’t make me feel any better for turning those other girls away.

And then, I can’t help but wonder what everyone is thinking.  I know some girls are judging that particular use of that time.  I also know it was exactly what those skaters needed.  The ones that came.  And the ones that didn’t.  Well.  You can’t coach part of an athlete, you have to coach the whole athlete.  And sometimes that’s going to mean doing some weird shit at practice to get our mental game/focus on.  They picked me for this job, so they’re just going to have to come around to what that means, and that means yoga here and there at practice, etc.

Besides.  We could have scrimmaged last night, sure.  And yeah, the two evaluators (me & Die) who were there could have seen some good shit.  But.  How much would you all have killed me if we’d done that?  I’d have been pissed off at me.  Not to mention our poor refs.  They’ve had scrimmages two-three nights a week on top of Sats/Suns and a couple of bouts.  They’d have killed me, too.  (Or they just wouldn’t have shown up.  And then we’d really have killed each other.)

So HA.

And I know what you’re all thinking/going to say: I can’t make everyone happy all the time.  I beg to differ.  Yes. I.  Can.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sunnyd605 said,

    don’t feel bad about turning people away. i’m not sure how anyone would get the idea that contenders practices are open, they never have been. and who cares if anyone judged the fact that we did yoga. if they don’t get it, they don’t need it. good for them. but all of the people who showed up needed it. i needed it, i feel like a million bucks today. ok, maybe like a hundred bucks but whatever. we need people to do things like that to lead by example and show us that sometimes you have to take a step back and take care of yourself in order to move forward.

  2. 3

    sdmonkey said,

    So sad I missed it, but on a side note my neck feels way better. Hopefully you will do it again someday when it is open to PM.

    • 4

      I don’t know if we do it again if we’ll be able to open it up to PM, unfortunately. I don’t know if we’ll have an opportunity to do a full hour of Yoga again in the future, for example. But. Duly noted, we’ll see what we can do.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

