Train Insane or Remain the Same

Today, I woke early for Spin Class.  I was up and walking Reilly before sunrise (6:30) so that I could make my 8am class and still get to the Ale House for brunch with my derby wife (Feist E One from the Boulder County Bombers) and Alessia (her daughter.)

Spin Class.  Was.  Terrible.  I mean it was bad.  Kill Bill, naturally.  We did a five minute sprint twice, except that the second time he couldn’t tell time and it was only four minutes long.  Suri wondered why a 5 minute sprint is bad.  Pedaling as fast as you can for five minutes.  Nothing else.  First–it’s not challenging.  Second–it’s boring!  And we did it twice! Or at least Bill thinks we did it twice and that’s just as bad.  He kept messing up his timing, telling us we’d do something for a minute, then 48 seconds later telling us we were done.  The worst, though, is that he drones on and on and on about ridiculous republican bullshit forever.  We missed several intervals and over-rested today because of it.  I was super annoyed.  My usual bike was taken today, so I sat in a different one.  Conveniently there was a poll in my line of vision blocking Bill out.  Also, I couldn’t hear his droning as well.  It was sort of Charlie Brown style.  I zoned out for one of our rests/his stories, and he talked so long I got cold!  This was 45 minutes in to the class.  There was no reason for me to be cold.  Ughhh.  He was up there droning on about another instructor telling him not to waste her time–meanwhile I’m sitting there on my bike thinking I wish he wasn’t wasting mine.  Damn.  The thing that really kills me, though, is the 31 miles my bike said I’d ridden (that’s a lot–we did a lot of sprinting) and the fact that my thighs and calves hurt later in the day.  So I guess it wasn’t a total waste.  Still–I can’t wait til Tuesday.  Leslie Spin.  I miss her.

Bill has these sayings.  “Nobody cares how much you know until they know how much you care–and I care.”  *Vomit.*  Today was: “Train Insane or Remain the Same.”  *Double Vomit.*  I think I’ll start Contenders practice with this quote on Monday.  Hahahahaha.  Yeah right.  I am starting w/ a quote, though.

Anyway, so that.

Food:

  • Honey nut cheerios w/ 1% milk
  • Energy Bite (like 2.5 servings, I think…)
  • Lamb Burger w/ fries, ranch, and beer.
  • Dips (queso, 3 bean, cottage cheese, guacamole…) pot stickers, celery salad… … potato chips…  tortilla chips…  etc.
  • more beer.
  • wine.

Lops made this delicious Celery Salad tonight–it was so sweet too.  She made healthy food because she knew some of the Contenders are on the TBT (our holiday party was tonight.)  I ❤ Lops.  And all the rest of the Cont-ies.  I had a nice night with them tonight.

Leave a Reply

