Brussel Sprouts and Shitake Lo Mein

Brussels Sprouts and Shiitake Lo Mein Recipe

Wow.  This was amazing.  Mmm….

IMG_0427

Changes to the recipe.

  • First–I used one package fresh Shitake Mushrooms instead of dried.  No brainer, right?
  • Second–instead of 4oz egg noodles, I used the whole bag–12oz.  (I increased everything else a smidge as well.)
  • Sprouts carries “Mung Sprouts,” but they were out.  Their regular sprouts were $3,99!  So I thought I’d get them for $1.99 like I used to at King Soopers.  D’Oh!  King Soopers no longer carries sprouts!  So I had to return to Sprouts a second time to purchase sprouts.  Irony?

I can’t explain how good this was.  Without Soy Sauce, a little bland, but… still a rich garlic flavor (that I love.)  Only put a splash of Soy Sauce on, though.  Tim and I both overdid it.  🙂  When I make this again, I will splurge and use two cartons of Shitake Mushrooms.  Also, I might add some tofu or chicken to make it a one-skillet-meal. Tonight, I served it with Thai Fish Sauce and Lime Chicken.  The flavors definitely complemented one another, but I think each can stand alone.

Nutritional Information:

Amount per serving (Yield 6 servings)

  • Calories: 214
  • Calories from fat: 43%
  • Protein: 6.3g
  • Fat: 11g
  • Saturated fat: 1.3g
  • Carbohydrate: 26g
  • Fiber: 4.3g
  • Sodium: 286mg
  • Cholesterol: 19mg
3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […]  Delicious.  I served this with Brussel Sprouts and Shitake Lo Mein.  They went well together, but next time I will take Cooking Light‘s advice and serve over […]

  2. 2

    […] Fish Sauce with Lime Chicken and Brussel Sprouts and Shitake Lo Mein with red […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

