Derby Goals

Tonight, Gaygan suggested focusing on three goals.  One Long Term, one Mid-Term, and one Short Term.  Too often we are trying to focus on so many things it gets difficult and takes our focus away.  Well.  At least that’s how I feel.  Here is a list of things I’d like to get better at:

  • Skater Form
  • Endurance
  • Speed
  • Strength
  • 180 degree turn on one foot (both feet)
  • Sideways Skating
  • Backwards Skating (crossovers)
  • Skating wrong direction
  • Ability to consistently jump Apex
  • Use Hips
  • Titty Take Outs
  • Playing well w/ others
  • Penalty Control
  • Being a nice/helpful league mate
  • Attitude (don’t look tired when tired)
  • Using my offense (“friendly side”)
  • Offense
  • Agility/Foot work
  • Make holes
  • Find holes
  • Plug holes
  • … etc

There are a couple of skills I’ve sort of been toying around with lately, and (at least) one skill I’m horribly terribly awful at and just need to focus on to improve.  They are: sideways skating, apex jumping, one leg 180 turning, and hitting with hips.

Sideways skating is fun, and I like to do it during warm up to open my hips up.  Also, I think it is good to help with flippy spinny moves.  But…I think I am okay at it, I just need to practice it here and there.  Also, it’s applications are limited.

Apex jumping.  I did it successfully once (against AJ, no less,) then got new skates and haven’t done it since.  😥  Sad frog.  I want to do it again.  And again.  And again.  Until it is second nature.  I can jump the fuck out of a cone or a stationary body.  Why the fuck is a moving body in a jam different?  Also, I’ve gotten some dumb penalties when I’ve wussed out of Apex jumps.  It’s time.

One foot/leg 180s.  Yeah.  I don’t know what the application is other than AJ did it at regionals and it was totally fucking BA and she looked like a ballerina and who doesn’t want to look like a ballerina?  Riiight?  Seriously, though, I think it might improve my leg strength/agility, and it is something I find myself spending time trying to figure out, so I just went with it.

Hip hits.  I’m a mofo-ing Contender and I can’t hit with my hips to save my life.  This must be ratified.  Immediately.  So:

Short Term Goal: Comfortably Jump Apex in Scrimmage/ Bout consistently.

Mid Term Goal: 1 foot/leg 180 Pirouette-y thing

Long Term Goal: Hit with hips.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    I asked Scream to hold my hands and skate in front of me while I worked on skating backwards. It was super helpful because I wasn’t worried about falling. I’d be happy to do that with you before practice.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

