If you really want more, scream it out louder

“If you really want more, scream it out louder”

This is my Derby Jam.  I had Batty and Scream play it when I did my 20 laps, I play it before every bout, and it usually comes on my iPod when I’m merging from I-225 to I-70 on the way to practice.  I really started listening to it when I made Contenders.  I was worried I’d screw up that opportunity, so I just kept telling myself to work at it.  If you really want more, scream it out louder.  Get on the floor, bring out the fire.  Light it up, take it up higher.

I also like the second part of the first verse–“Know you’ve been patiently waiting, I know you need me, I can feel it, I’m a beast, I’m an animal, I’m that monster in the mirror, the headliner, finisher, closer, winner, best when under pressure with seconds left I show up.”  If you just read the lyrics and look at what a cock Usher is, he’s talking about how he’s so awesome at dancing.  But for me, it means this opportunity was meant for me.  And here I am, and I’m not gonna let anyone down.  And the last part there, I always look at Fight Club winning WFTDA Nationals in 2010.  One point.  Frida Beater.  Sure, that was everyone’s victory.  But, Frida totally could have fucked that up.  She didn’t.  She secured a win.  I always wonder what would happen to me in a similar situation.  I think I would crack under pressure.  So singing these lyrics at myself, constantly telling myself I’m the finisher, is my way of preparing myself for the event my team needs a tight victory and I’m on the line.  (It almost happened at the Fillmore DRD bout, but Alpha pulled me and put other skaters in instead. It did happen at Sac City, but I was blocking, not jamming, so not the same.)

“More” by Usher

“Watch me as I dance under the spotlight-
listen to the people screaming out more, and more
Cos I create the feeling that keep em coming back,
Yeah, I create the feeling that keep em coming back,
So captivating when I get it on the floor.

Know y’all been patiently waiting, I know you need me, I can feel it,
I’m a beast, I’m an animal, I’m that Monster in the mirror,
The headliner, finisher, I’m the closer, winner.
Best when under pressure with seconds left I show up.

If you really want more, scream it out louder,
if you on the floor, bring out the fire,
And light it up, take it up higher,
Gonna push it to the limit, give it more.

Get up both your hands, I’m in the zone, s’aite
put em in the air, if you more (and) more,
Cos I can’t wait to feel it.
I go hard, can’t stop,
But if I stop just know that Imma bring it back,
Never quittin’ don’t believe in that.

Know y’all been patiently waiting, I know you need me, I can feel it,
I’m a beast, I’m an animal, I’m that monster in the mirror,
The headliner, finisher, I’m the closer, winner.
Best when under pressure with seconds left I show up.

If you really want more, scream it out louder,
if you on the floor, bring out the fire,
And light it up, take it up higher,
Gotta push it to the limit, give it more.

Ooooooooo….
Gotta push it to the limit, give it more..
Ooooooooo….

If you really want more, scream it out louder,
if you on the floor, bring out the fire,
And light it up, take it up higher,
Gotta push it to the limit, give it more.

Ooooooooo….
Gotta push it to the limit, give it more..
Ooooooooo….

Gotta push it to the limit, give it more.”

Leave a Reply

