Blah, blah, blah, time to double down.

I’m stressing a little, so I’m just going to reflect and come up with a plan.  This week I am missing both Monday and Wednesday night practices, and I can’t  make up Thursday b/c I have Parent/Teacher Conferences and I ditched the last ones for the MHC/FC scrimmage…

Without Monday/Wednesday practice this week, I have an additional 9hrs of free time this week.  My book club, which I stopped attending in June of 2011 due to derby-induced busy-ness, is discussing one of my favorite books, (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,) this evening at one of my favorite people and one of the best hostesses I know’s house.  At 6:00pm.  How I would love to attend. Unfortunately, life is in the way and I can’t.   *Sigh.*  Would have been weird to show up 18 months later all “Lisbeth’s eidetic memory is clearly symbolic of…”  Quick aside: I loved that book and Lisbeth.  So much that I really wanted to use her for my derby name.  I wanted to be: Lindsbeth Salander.  Or something.  But it was too hard to say, and the pop culture reference so diluted it wasn’t worth it.

Ok.  So.  “To Do.”

  1. Exercise.  I am skipping practice and thus must:
    • Tues: Spin w/ Leslie @6:00pm tonight.  (She is the weird Marimba music instructor.  *Sigh.*)
    • Wed: Exercise on my own.  Long Reilly walk, push-ups, and planks.  At least.
    • Thurs: 😦  P/T Conferences.  I don’t know what can be done.  (Regular work day 7-4, “Dinner,” then “conferences” in my dress clothes 5-8:30)
    • Fri:  Same.  Crap.  Maybe Karen will come in at 7:00 so I can go to Kim’s Spin class from 5:45am-6:45am.  I could be to work and in jeans and a polo by…  7:30…  We’ll cross that bridge later this week.
  2. Z & V Stuff.  Rowdy and I are now captains.  Yay us.
    • line-ups (not worried about this even a little bit.)
    • Gifties.  I have great ideas, just need time to put them together…I think I can get stuff this afternoon on my way home, then put stuff together Wed & Fri after work.
  3. Work.  (Funny that I put work last.  Tee hee.  I think just because it’s the thing I’m least concerned about completing–it’s a matter of doing, not of finding time to do.)
    • PTI/PGI… thing.  I get an extra couple hundred bucks for jumping through a bunch of metaphorical hoops.  At least one of which is due next Wed.  I have no idea how to even start yet.
    • Order Books.  (One of the best parts of my job, I just haven’t had any time, but I need to do this STAT!)
    • State Library Survey thing.

Okay.  That makes my week appear a little more manageable.  I worry that exercising is what will go uncompleted. I have been doing so well w/ TBT and derby, I don’t want to give up/start slacking now.  Especially because I think it’s time to double down.  😉  Any time it seems like it’s the right time to take a break, I double down.  Made Sunday practices?  Double down.  Skills tested?  Double down.  Made Conts?  …that was actually like a Quadruple down, but still.  Doing well w/ TBT?  Double down.

Also–twice this weekend it was suggested to me that I lift.  Eve said it first, and I don’t remember why.  Batty said it second, in response to my: “I am the world’s slowest jammer.”  I get through, but I’m so fucking slow it’s absurd.  Everyone can catch me.  Sprint muscles.  She suggested Kettle Bells.  Ugh.  I’m not sure if lifting is the answer, mostly b/c I don’t want to, but… also.  Kill Bill (spin instructor) said something about big muscles vs little sprint muscles last Friday, and the subsequent drill perfectly illustrated what he meant.  (The slow heavy weight–>sprint no weight one at the end that I mentioned when it happened.)  Anyway.  Time to double down.  I’ll take a “break” in December.  After TBT.  (Btw, I think we should TBT again January 1.)

Lifting.  Somebody help me.  I need to.  I know I need to.  BodyPump?  How often?  Derby 3x/week, Spin 1-2x/week, Lifting…  1x/week?  2x/week?  20 push-ups and a minute plank every day?  What should I be doing?

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sunnyd605 said,

    have you ever done the awesome jammer workout? it’s something frida cooked up a few years ago. let me know if you want it, i have a copy.

  2. 3

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this blog’s articles every day along with a cup of coffee.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

