Hmmm…

So, the Fitbit is primarily a pedometer.  It doesn’t track things other than steps and floors very well.  For example, my Spin Class results from yesterday:

 

The Bike’s odometer told me I went about 19 miles (I don’t remember, it was before 7am, and I don’t care that much.)  Last Saturday, I went 27 miles.  The instructor (Kill Bill) said his heart rate monitor told him he’d burned around 800 calories, and that women usually burn less, so we’d probably burned around 600, they aren’t always accurate, etc, etc, etc.  Fitbit told me I’d traveled 2.69 miles and burned 344 calories:

 

I’m not that bothered by it.  It’s not a perfect technology, I’m okay with that, it serves it’s purpose, etc, etc, etc.  So my question is…  well basically wtf.  I can enter my own caloric intake into the fitbit website, or, what I’ve been doing, is allow fitbit to tell me how much to eat.  So when I’m more active, I get to eat more.  I’m supposed to have a deficit of 500 calories a day to reach my goal by Dec. 1.  I weighed in at 154lbs. yesterday.  So I’m doing well.  But fitbit usually tells me I’ve eaten too much.  I guess my other question is… do I want something that more accurately tracks?  Or– I can enter activities/exercise/calories burned  into the fitbit website and overwrite what fitbit tracks.  I haven’t done that in the past because I don’t want to tell fitbit I’ve exercised more than I actually have… the point of having a tracker is to keep me honest, right?  I dunno.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sunnyd605 said,

    meh- i have one of those body bugg deals. i don’t really wear it. i now have an idea of how much burn i get doing certain things (about 500-600 in a 2 hour derby practice) … but once i kind of knew how much stuff burned i stopped using it. plus, you have to pay for the website to use it which is super lame.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

