I’ll just take my B vitamins in pill form, then.

Food: Honey Nut Cheerios, 1% milk, coffee, fat free creamer.  Apple.  PB&J on wheat with veggies.  Gatorade G2.  String Cheese.  Luna Bar. Baby Kale with Honey Mustard, Pasta De Sardine. Glass of red wine.

Exercise: 1 mile walk with Reilly.

OMG.  Ewwwww!  It’s been a good food-xperiment week, so I decided (against my intuition) to continue that path.  Bad idea.  After someone pointed out a week or so ago how good for you Sardines are, I picked up two tins (in water.)  Looked up some recipes, found a few similar that I could mess with, and went for it.  Wheat pasta with this Sardine Sauce.

Fish-sketti Recipe: (DO NOT try at home.  EW.  Seriously EW.  I think I over-experimented.)

  1. Saute onions, garlic, and herbs in olive oil (fresh sage and oregano) until onions are translucent.
  2. Drain and add sardines.  Smush into mixture
  3. Add can of tomato sauce and can of diced Italian tomatoes.  Stir together.
  4. Add balsamic vinegar to conquer fish odor.  Cover, simmer.
  5. Realize it still reeks, throw in crushed red pepper flakes to possibly salvage the disaster. Simmer more.

OMG the fish odor.  I could hardly stand to taste the sauce on a spoon I was so horrified at what I’d created.  My kitchen smelled like…  well… when you imagine a dumpster in an alley behind a really poor quality asian cuisine restaurant…  putrid rotting fish of the worst kind?  Kinda like that.  But with sour-y vinegar smell on top.  Anyway, Tim got home and I made him try it.  His initial instinct was shrimp, bless him.  Then he moved to tuna…  he wasn’t pleased at the idea of sardines, but he insisted we try it rather than throw it out.  So we did.  At first… it wasn’t awful.  I tasted fishiness for the first few bites, then that was covered up by the spiciness of the red pepper flakes (they were totally doing their job.)  Once I got into it, though, down to where the chunks were…  and had to chew…  blech blech blech.  I’m not sure if it was a texture thing or a mental thing or what.

Btw–Sardines have spines.  I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to pull the spines out before putting them in the sauce (the recipe said nothing) or just throw them in and call it good.  I ended up picking a bunch out.  Unfortunately… you know what translucent, sauteed green onion bulbs look like?  Oh right.  Fish spines.  blech blech blech.

Annnnd… now my tummy hurts.  😦  Hopefully it will settle soon.  I probably need to console myself with many glasses of wine.  *sigh.*  I’m nursing my first glass, so hopefully it will last all night.  If not, two it shall be.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    poipoundher said,

    This made me giggle!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

