Aw shit. Am I really doing this?

Truthfully: I am quite satisfied with the appearance of my body.  I am disappointed with what I feel are my physical limitations, and that is what I would like to transform.  Moving to a world renowned derby league (RMRG) from a small town team struggling to survive, I am getting my ass kicked at every practice.  Which I love.  And would not give up for the world.  However.  Often I feel the need to sit out and/or come up with lame excuses of why I suck so hard.  I would like that to change.  I want to make sure I am pushing myself past where I think my stopping point is.  Also I have trouble breathing, and it seems like something on my body (lately my back) is bothering me.  So I want those things to go away.  Once I’m not experiencing minor aches and pains that at best annoy and at worst keep me from practice, I’d like to get into some heavier exercise, like maybe start attending a Spin Class at the Rec again so that I can really work on becoming a better athlete (or winning a “world’s best thighs” award on TMZ… or something.)

So.  Goals.  My only goal is to become the best MeanAss I can be, the best athlete.  To work on getting there these 90 days, I would like to:

  1. Improve overall muscle strength.  (Esp. core/legs)
  2. Manage my breathing
  3. Prevent minor avoidable injuries (“tight back”)

How I’ll get there:

  1. Push myself a little bit harder every practice…  I don’t wanna say “don’t sit out” because I might have to… but…  Don’t sit out!
  2. Exercise at home every day–Yoga, Ab work, Wii, etc
  3. Use Inhaler
  4. Physical Therapy?
  5. Eat well–healthy snacks, not junk food.
2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mr WordPress said,

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. 2

    Andrea said,

    Welcome to the TBT!

    I was injured last year (hip bursitis) and had to do physical therapy, and it made a huge difference once I came back to skating. You mention it and you’re right on: working on leg strength (especially muscle imbalances between R/L if you have them) and core strength can go far!

    Also things like plyometrics or high intensity training will just overall give you more power.

    Welcome, and have fun!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

